Zimbabwe include nine uncapped players in provisional Test squad


Zimbabwe’s preparations for this month’s two-match Test series at home to Sri Lanka have begun in earnest, with a 25-man provisional squad called up for national duty reporting for camp in Harare today.


The training squad includes nine uncapped players, among them Mountaineers opening batsman Kevin Kasuza and his Rangers counterpart Brian Mudzinganyama who have been rewarded for their Logan Cup form.


Having also impressed in the four-day competition, pace bowlers Charlton Tshuma of Rangers and Mountaineers pair William Mashinge and Victor Nyauchi will be getting a look-in during the camp alongside spinners Ainsley Ndlovu and Tapiwa Mufudza of Tuskers and Eagles respectively.


The other uncapped players vying for places in the final 15-man squad for the series is the Eagles duo of all-rounder Tinotenda Mutombodzi and left-arm seamer Richard Ngarava.


Apart from the newly appointed captain, Sean Williams, and other experienced players such as Brendan Taylor, Tendai Chatara, Craig Ervine, Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva, Kyle Jarvis and Donald Tiripano, the training squad also includes Prince Masvaure and Timycen Maruma.


The first Test is scheduled for 19-23 January, with the second match set for 27-31 January.


Both matches will be played at Harare Sports Club.


Zimbabwe Provisional Test Squad:


Ryan Burl, Sikandar Raza Butt, Regis Chakabva, Brian Chari, Tendai Chatara, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Craig Ervine, Kyle Jarvis, Kevin Kasuza, Timycen Maruma, William Mashinge, Prince Masvaure, Brandon Mavuta, Peter Joseph Moor, Brian Mudzinganyama, Tapiwa Mufudza, Carl Mumba, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Ainsley Ndlovu, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Brendan Taylor, Donald Tiripano, Charlton Tshuma, Sean Williams

About the author

Byron Adonis Mutingwende