Smart phones for NAMA winners


spiked online media

in ,

Accolade winners for the 14th National Arts and Merit Awards (NAMA) which were held at Rainbow 7 Arts Theatre in February will receive additional prices at the Zimbabwe International Trade Fair (ZITF) in Bulawayo.

The winners who were not well rewarded for coming victors on the national award platform due to lack of sponsorship will receive G Tel smart phones.

National Arts Council of Zimbabwe (NACZ) communication and marketing officer Cathrine Mthombeni said each winner will get the smart phone.

“As part of value addition to the 14th National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA) winners, the National Arts Council of Zimbabwe in partnership with G Tel and Zifm will handover smart phones to all the NAMA 14th edition winners.

“Each winner will get a G Tel model A706i,” said Mthombeni.

She said the handover ceremony will be held on Wednesday.

“The first handover ceremony will be held in Bulawayo on Wednesday the 29th of April 2015 at Zimbabwe International Trade Fair at ZiFM stand (our corporate media partner) at 2.30pm where all the winners from the Southern region will receive their prizes,” she added.

“Week later a similar event will be held in Harare for winners from the Northern region.”

Here is the list of NAMA winners


Outstanding Male Dancer
1. Stanley Wasili of Tumbuka Dance Company
2. Reuben Mlauzi of IYASA
3. McIntosh Jerahuni of Tumbuka Dance Company(Winner)

Outstanding Female Dancer
1. Charlene Chimara of Dance Trust of Zimbabwe
2. Cheryl Mabaya of IYASA(Winner)
3. Maylene Chenjerai of Tumbuka Dance Company

Outstanding Choreographer
1. Ketan Nagar in The Caterpillar Dance by Kinkini – The Voice of Dance(Winner)
2. Sean George Mabwere in International Skrillex Remix by M &M Dance Factory
3. Richard Ndlovu in The Official opening of the African Union Sports Commission Region V Youth Games by the Ministry of Sport, Arts and Culture

Outstanding Dance Group
1. M &M Dance Factory
2. Dance Trust of Zimbabwe(Winner)


Outstanding Actor
1. Philani Nyoni in Qiniso
2. Partwell Nazvo in Prophets of Doom(Winner)
3. Nash Mphepho in Dust and Fortunes

Outstanding Actress
1. Bianca Magwenzi in Tariro(Winner)
2. Stella January in Dust & Fortunes
3. Nothando Nobengula in Beyond

Outstanding Screen Production – Full length film
1. Sour Milk by Melgin Tafirenyika
2. Tariro by Malon Murape
3. Dust & Fortunes by Justice Chapwanya(Winner)

Outstanding Screen Production – Short Film
1. My Dream by Sheunesu Moyo(Winner)
2. The Calling by Mhle Nzima
3. The Journey from Rural to Ramp by Jill Roberts and
Lynette Frewin

Outstanding Screen Production (Television)
1. One Family Can by Johannes Machingauta
2. The Other Brother by Charity Mahowa-Matavo
3. Mr Perfect by Gugulethu Ndlovu(Winner)

Outstanding Music Video
1. Makanika by Willard Magombedze ft. Jah Prayzah
2. Gudo Guru by Munyaradzi Nota ft. Changamire(Winner)
3. Ndipe Rudo by Andy Cutta ft. Sanii Makhalima


Outstanding First Creative Published Work
1. Shards written by Cynthia Marangwanda Published by Ko.Maseko Publishers(Winner)
2. Revai written by Ropofadzo Mupunga Published by Zimbabwe Women Writers
3. A Struggle Alike written by Debra Vakira Published by Zimbabwe Women Writers

Outstanding Children’s Book
1. Little Hare Stories – Big Trouble at the River written by Enock Chihombori Published by Xlibris
2. Mombe Yamai written by Chenjerai Mazambani Published by Bhabhu Books
3. Around the Fire – Folktales from Zimbabwe edited by Raisedon Baya and Christopher Mlalazi Published by Multimedia Box(Winner)

Outstanding Fiction Book
1. Mukoma’s Marriage and Other Stories written by Emmanuel Sigauke Published by Booklove Publishers
2. Bhuku Risina Basa Nokuti Rakanyorwa Masikati written by Memory Chirere Published By Bhabhu Books(Winner)
3. Writing Lives edited by Irene Staunton Published by Weaver Presss


Outstanding Journalist Print
1. Sharon Muguwu – Daily News
2. Tinashe Muchuri – Parade
3. Garikai Mazara – Sunday Mail(Winner)

Outstanding Journalist TV
1. Josephine Mugiyo – ZBC(Winner)
2. Sifiso Mpofu – ZBC

Outstanding Journalist Radio
1. Tawanda Gudhlanga – SFM
2. Tendai Chakanyuka – Power FM(Winner)
3. Jackson Madzimba – SFM

Outstanding Online Media
1. 3 Men On a Boat
2. Writers International Network (WIN)Zimbabwe(Winner)
3. Panorama


Outstanding Female musician
1. Cindy Munyavi
2. Cynthia Mare(Winner)
3. Agatha Murudzwa

Outstanding Male musician
1. Obey Makamure aka Tocky Vibes
2. Antonio Romeo aka Shinsoman
3. Sulumani Chimbetu aka Sulu(Winner)

Outstanding Song
1. Mhai from Mhai by Tocky Vibes(Winner)
2. Kumbumura Mhute from Kumbumura Mhute by Jah Prayzah
3. Popopopo from Tirikumhanya by Killer T

Outstanding Album
1. Gunship by Sulumani Chimbetu
2. Kumbumura Mhute by Jah Prayzah
3. Mhai Singles Collection by Tocky Vibes(Winner)


Outstanding Comedian
1. Mike Matimba aka Uncle Ritchie
2. Victor Mpofu aka Doc Vikela
3. Clive Chigubhu(Winner)

Outstanding Poet
1. Tatenda “Dhege” Chinoda
2. Likhwa Ncube(Winner)
3. Sithandazile Dube


Outstanding Actress
1. Rumbidzai Karize in The Convert
2. Bathabile Dlamini in Umbiko KaMadlenya(Winner)
3. Lawayne Muzite in Connections

Outstanding Actor
1. Tichaona Mutore in Maids
2. Jasen Mphepho in 1000 Miles
3. Memory Kumbota in Umbiko KaMadlenya(Winner)

Outstanding Director
1. Nelson Mapako for Umbiko KaMadlenya(Winner)
2. Ali-Jarmil Mutodzaniswa for Connections
Outstanding Theatrical Production
1. The Convert by Almasi Collaborative Arts
2. Umbiko KaMadlenya by Intwasa Arts Festival koBulawayo(Winner)
3. Connections by Pamushana High School


Outstanding 2 Dimensional Work
1. Undressing to Redress by Wallen Mapondera(Winner)
2. Farming and Production by Webster Mubayirenyi
3. Song from Within by Boarding Dzinotizei

Outstanding 3 Dimensional Work
1. Mwana Wedangwe by Rufaro Murenza(Winner)
2. Contemporary Scourge by Forbes Mushipe
3. Jacket of Love by Israel Israel

Outstanding Mix Media
1. The Challenged by Forbes Mushipe
2. Different Roots, Same Destination by Ngonidzashe Tsiga
3. Disappearing Faces by Rizimu Chiwawa(Winner)

Outstanding Exhibition
1. Social Zoometry by Wallen Mapondera
2. Women at the Top by Doreen Sibanda and Thandazani Dhlakama
3. Crossing the Bridge by Clifford Zulu(Winner)

Outstanding Promoter
1. Butterwick Promotions
2. X-MO Squad(Winner)
3. Formstate Investments

Arts Personality – Carl Joshua Ncube(Winner)

Arts Service – Dr. Angeline S. Kamba(Winner)

Life Achievement – Oliver Mtukudzi(Winner)

People Choice – Uncle Ritchie(Winner)