SADC Extraordinary Heads of State and Government Summit to tackle El Nino’s humanitarian impacts

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready…

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) will on 20 May 2024 hold a virtual Extraordinary Summit of Heads of State and Government to discuss the humanitarian situation in the region, following the ongoing El Niño induced drought that has negatively impacted the lives and livelihoods of an estimated 58 million people.

The Extraordinary Summit will be chaired by His Excellency João Manuel Gonçalves Lourenço, President of the Republic of Angola in his capacity as the Chairperson of SADC.

The Summit will discuss measures to mitigate the impact of the El Niño induced drought and address the food and nutrition security situation in the SADC region. During the Summit, the SADC Chairperson will launch the SADC Humanitarian Appeal which highlights the population affected, their prioritised needs, and a call for immediate support from regional and international partners to address the needs of the affected population.

The Extraordinary SADC Summit will be preceded by the following meetings;

  • 13 May 2024: Joint Meeting of Senior Officials for Agriculture, Water, Energy and Disaster Risk Management
  • 14 May 2024: Joint Meeting of Ministers Responsible for Agriculture, Water, Energy and Disaster Risk Management
  • 18 May 2024: Meeting of the SADC Standing Committee of Senior Officials                             
  • 19  May 2024: Meeting of the SADC Council of Ministers Meeting                                       
  • 20 May 2024: Extra-Ordinary Summit for Heads of State and Government.

In line with Article 10 of the SADC Treaty, the SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government is responsible for the overall policy direction and control of functions of the Community, making it the supreme policy-making institution of SADC.

SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. SADC Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.